During Old Home Day 2010 the local Boy Scout Troop planted a Liberty Elm on the lawn of the SFL. Here are Selectboard Chair Guy with Scout Brennan Corrigan dedicating the tree. (photo by Lynn Hendrickson)
In the spring of 1881, Clara Hurd proposed that Mr. Lumen T. Jefts of Hudson, MA build a Library building and donate it to the Town. The Town agreed to pay for constructing the basement and foundation and to maintain the building to be used for no other purpose than a Library or strictly literary society.
Mr.& Mrs. John Safford donated the land for the building and SS Woodcock of Boston designed it. Construction began at once. The high-Victorian brick and carved granite building with slate roof was dedicated on December 21, 1881.
The Library collection grew, but in 1972 it was apparent that the building was no longer large enough. In April 1979, ground was broken for the long-awaited addition to the Library. On August 9, 1980, the addition was formally dedicated by the State Librarian to Preston Rolfe, and the book room to Zaida Cilley. The addition boasts a bathroom, work room and basement archive room. This added much-needed shelf space for the Library’s continuously growing collection.
Additional maintenance and cosmetic work have been ongoing projects such as painting, reconstruction of the steps, replacement of the railing and lighting to allow a safer approach to the building. In August 2010, the Liberty Elm was planted by the local Scout Troop and dedicated during the Old Home Ceremony.